Know the state-wise, institution-wise break-up of Krishi Vigyan Kendras’ network in India

Know the state-wise, institution-wise break-up of Krishi Vigyan Kendras’ network in India

New Delhi: There are 38 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) under the control of state governments, 66 under ICAR institutes, 103 under NGOs, 506 under agricultural universities, three each under central universities and public sector undertakings (PSU), seven under deemed to be universities and five under other educational institutions functioning in India, Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Narendra Singh Tomar said the in Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

As many as 731 Krishi Vigyan Kendras are functioning across India, are the front-line agricultural extension centres functioning in the country to transfer newly developed technologies and outcomes of agricultural research and development into the farmers’ fields. Each district in the country has at least one KVK while geographically big and diverse districts have more than one KVK.

You may also like to read: IIT Kanpur develops ‘Novel Nanoparticles’ to protect rice crop from fungal and bacterial infections

The technologies developed out of research conducted by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) are taken to farmers’ fields for its assessment by KVKs to ascertain their location specificity under various farming systems. KVKs also conduct a large number of technology demonstrations at farmers’ fields for their adoption by the farmers. The KVKs conducted 1.12 lakh assessment trials of technologies in farmers’ fields and 7.35 lakh demonstrations on different technologies related to crops, livestock, fisheries, farm machineries and other enterprises during the last three years, the Agriculture Minister informed the lower house of Indian parliament.

State/UT wise number of Krishi Vigyan Kendras
Name of State/ UT Total
Andaman & Nicobar Islands 3
Andhra Pradesh 24
Arunachal Pradesh 17
Assam 26
Bihar 44
Chhattisgarh 28
Delhi 1
Goa 2
Gujarat 30
Haryana 18
Himachal Pradesh 13
Jammu & Kashmir 20
Jharkhand 24
Karnataka 33
Kerala 14
Ladakh 4
Lakshadweep 1
Madhya Pradesh 54
Maharashtra 50
Manipur 9
Meghalaya 7
Mizoram 8
Nagaland 11
Odisha 33
Puducherry 3
Punjab 22
Rajasthan 47
Sikkim 4
Tamil Nadu 32
Telangana 16
Tripura 8
Uttar Pradesh 89
Uttarakhand 13
West Bengal 23
Total 731

The figures were shared by the minister in the Lok Sabha.

Photo Credit: KVK Pali

Click here to read Agri Research stories.
Engage with us on Telegram, Twitter, Linkedin and Facebook.
Share on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× 7 = 28